Domino’s became the nation’s largest pizza chain this week to offer a gluten-free pizza crust, a step to meet the needs of gluten-sensitive customers, Nation’s Restaurant News reported.
But the crust, made from rice flour, rice starch and potato starch, is not recommended for consumers with celiac disease, according to the trade journal report. Domino’s said its new product, available in all of the chain’s nearly 5,000 locations and made with no wheat, rye or barley, still is risky for those with celiac disease because the pizzas are made in the same kitchens as pizzas with wheat crust. For someone with celiac, even tiny amounts of gluten can hurt the digestive system.
In a statement, Domino’s president and CEO, J. Patrick Doyle, said customers have asked for a gluten-free pizza.
“The prevalence of gluten sensitivity has become a real issue with significant impact on consumer choice, and we want to be part of the solution,” Doyle said.
Domino's offers new gluten-free pizza
We've upgraded our reader commenting system. Learn more about the new features.
The Baltimore Sun encourages civil dialogue related to our stories; you must register and log-in to our site in order to participate. We reserve the right to remove any user and to delete comments that violate our Terms of Service. By commenting, you agree to these terms. Please flag inappropriate comments.