Senate denies request by Benson to vote late

Sen. Joanne C. Benson this morning asked her colleagues to let her cast a vote on the same-sex marriage bill -- a full 17 hours after the rest of the body approved the controversial measure 25-21. (See the final vote tally after the jump.)

"As you know I was not here for that wonderful bill we voted on," Benson told other senators. She said she would have voted no.

The newly elected Prince George's County Democrat was on the floor for a 6 p.m. cloture vote on the issue, but explained that she left because she was under the impression the vote would be called at 7 p.m.

Believing she had an hour to spare, she took a phone call and was absent when the vote was called about 30 minutes earlier than expected.

Other senators grumbled at her request Friday morning. The rest of them had stayed on the floor and missed appointments.

When Sen. David Brinkley rose to ask the senators to extend the same courtesy to Sen. J.B. Jennings, who will miss a series of votes because he has been called to active duty, it became clear that there would be opposition to Benson's request.

Sen. President Thomas V. Mike Miller denied it.

"Let that be a lesson to the new folks," Miller said.

Photo: Benson, as a member of  the House of Delegates. She was elected to the Senate last November. 

Final Vote tally

Sen. James Brochin, Baltimore County Democrat
Sen. Joan Carter Conway, Baltimore Democrat
Sen. Bill Ferguson, Baltimore Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Jennie Forehand, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Brian Frosh, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Rob Garagiola, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Lisa Gladden, Baltimore Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Verna Jones, Baltimore Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Edward Kasemeyer, Baltimore and Howard counties Democrat
Sen. Delores Kelley, Baltimore County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Nancy King, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Allan H. Kittleman, Howard County Republican
Sen. Katherine Klausmeier, Baltimore County Democrat
Sen. Richard Madaleno, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Roger Manno, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Nathaniel McFadden, Baltimore Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Karen Montgomery, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Paul Pinsky, Prince George's County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Catherine E. Pugh, Baltimore Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Victor Ramirez, Prince George's County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Jamie Raskin, Montgomery County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. James Robey, Howard County Democrat
Sen. James Rosapepe, Prince George's County Democrat
Sen. Ronald Young, Frederick County Democrat (sponsor)
Sen. Bobby Zirkin, Baltimore County Democrat (sponsor)

Sen. John Astle, Anne Arundel County Democrat
Sen. David Brinkley, Carroll and Frederick counties Republican
Sen. Richard Colburn, Eastern Shore Republican
Sen. Ulysses Currie, Prince George's County Democrat
Sen. James DeGrange, Anne Arundel County Democrat
Sen. Roy Dyson, Southern Maryland Democrat
Sen. George Edwards, Western Maryland Republican
Sen. Joseph Getty, Baltimore and Carroll counties Republican
Sen. Barry Glassman, Harford County Republican
Sen. Nancy Jacobs, Harford and Cecil counties Republican
Sen. J.B. Jennings, Baltimore and Harford counties Republican
Sen. James Mathias, Eastern Shore Democrat
Sen. Thomas Middleton, Charles County Democrat
Sen. Thomas V. Mike Miller, Prince George's and Calvert counties Democrat
Sen. C. Anthony Muse, Prince George's County Democrat
Sen. Douglas J.J. Peters, Prince George's County Democrat
Sen. E.J. Pipkin, Eastern Shore Republican
Sen. Edward Reilly, Anne Arundel County Republican
Sen. Christopher Shank, Washington County Republican
Sen. Bryan Simonaire, Anne Arundel County Republican
Sen. Norman Stone, Baltimore County Democrat

Sen. Joanne Benson, Prince George's County Democrat

Copyright © 2017, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad