Some potential baseball history for Orioles

I will have more on this in our notebook, but the Orioles are on the precipice of some baseball history.

And baseball, well, has been around for a long time. So there is some significance here.

No Orioles pitcher has more than three wins this season. Five pitchers – Brad Bergesen, Jeremy Guthrie, Brian Matusz, David Hernandez and Matt Albers – have three each.

If none of the above five picks up a win by Sunday evening, these 2010 Orioles will become the first team in baseball history not to have at least a four-game winner at the All-Star break.

That is according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

Amazing, huh?

By the way, the last team to have a four-game winner as its club leader at the All-Star break as the 2003 Detroit Tigers. They lost 119 games that season.

Copyright © 2017, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad