Rampage vs. Evans at UFC 114: what was that?

Quinton “Rampage” Jackson said at UFC 96 that his fight with Rashad Evans at UFC 114 was going to be “black-on-black crime." The only crime that was committed Saturday night was perpetrated on the fans of Ultimate Fighting Championship who paid to see a main event with very little action.

"This fight's going to haunt me for a long time," Jackson said after the fight. "... I never had so much pressure on me. I almost regret doing the movie [The A-Team]."

It looked as if Jackson was holding back so that he could make it into the fifth round, but the fight only lasted for three.

Rashad Evans won by unanimous decision, but displayed very little action in the victory.

The winner was promised a fight with Mauricio “Shogun” Rua for the UFC light heavyweight championship. Rua could have defeated both fighters Saturday.

I was more disappointed in this fight than I was with Anderson Silva's match against Demian Maia, but that could be because of the hype around the fight and the trash talking by both fighters leading up to UFC 114.

I’m waiting to hear Dana White’s comments on the fight.

The UFC should give Jon "Bones" Jones a shot at the title.

Was everyone as disappointed with the Evans-Jackson fight as I was?

Did Jason Brilz get robbed with the split-decision loss to Antonio Rogerio Nogueira?

Other results on the card:

Ryan Jensen defeated Jesse Forbes by submission (guillotine choke) at 1:06 of the first round.

Aaron Riley defeated Joe Brammer by decision (unanimous).

Cyrille Diabate defeated Luis Arthur Cane by TKO (punches) at 2:13 of the first round.

Melvin Guillard defeated Waylon Lowe by KO (knee to the body) at 3:28 of the first round.

Efrain Escudero defeated Dan Lauzon by decision (unanimous).

Dong Hyun Kim defeated Amir Sadollah by decision (unanimous).

John Hathaway defeated Diego Sanchez by decision (unanimous).

Antonio Rogerio Nogueira defeated Jason Brilz by decision (split).

Mike Russow defeated Todd Duffee by KO (punch) at 2:32 of the third round.

Michael Bisping defeated Dan Miller by decision (unanimous).

Rashad Evans defeated Quinton Jackson by decision (unanimous).

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad