Finalists for Tewaaraton Award announced

The list of 26 semifinalists for the Tewaaraton Award has been pared down to five, and the names of those finalists were announced Wednesday morning by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance and the University Club of Washington, DC.

In alphabetical order, those players are Virginia senior defenseman Ken Clausen, Duke fifth-year senior attackman Ned Crotty, Stony Brook junior midfielder Kevin Crowley, Delaware senior attackman Curtis Dickson and Syracuse junior long-stick midfielder Joel White.

Clausen leads the top-seeded Cavaliers in caused turnovers with 34 and ranks third in groundballs with 43. He ranks fourth among Division I defensemen with an average of 2.3 caused turnovers per game.

Crotty ranks second among the No. 5 seed Blue Devils in points (68). Nationally, he leads all Division I players in assists (51) and assists per game (3.2), and he ranks sixth in points per game (4.3).

Crowley leads the No. 8 seed Seawolves in points (71) and ranks second in both goals (46) and assists (25). He leads the country in points per game (5.0) and ranks fourth in goals per game (3.1).

Dickson leads the unseeded Blue Hens and the nation in goals (62) and hat tricks (12), and he tops the country in goals per game (3.9). With 162 career goals, he overtook Randy Powers as the school's all-time leader.

While, who leads the 11-time reigning national champion Orange in groundballs with 71 this season, has collected at least five groundballs in 10 of the team's 14 contests this season and has scooped up 193 loose balls in his career. He ranks second among Division I defenders in both goals (six) and points (nine). 

Copyright © 2017, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad