RAVENS PASS OFFENSE VS. COLTS PASS DEFENSE:

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000012410" title="Joe Flacco" href="/topic/sports/football/joe-flacco-PESPT0000012410.topic">Joe Flacco</a> did exactly what was needed last weekend, and that meant handing the ball off to Rice. The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a>' much-maligned quarterback doesn't have an interception in back-to-back games for the first time all season, though he's thrown the ball just 46 times during that span. Flacco has completed 55.3 percent of his passes, which is 28th in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="NFL" href="/topic/sports/football/nfl-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>, but he has done a good job of getting multiple receivers involved. The Ravens have five players with 28 or more catches, led by Rice's 56, and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008942" title="Anquan Boldin" href="/topic/sports/football/anquan-boldin-PESPT00008942.topic">Anquan Boldin</a>'s 50 for a team-leading 779 yards. Rookie <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009816" title="Torrey Smith" href="/topic/sports/football/torrey-smith-PESPT000009816.topic">Torrey Smith</a> leads the team with five touchdown catches. The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000044" title="Indianapolis Colts" href="/topic/sports/football/indianapolis-colts-ORSPT000044.topic">Colts</a> have been better against the pass than the run, but they still are allowing 242.9 yards per game through the air, which ranks 22nd in the NFL. They also have only 19 sacks &mdash; second fewest in the NFL &mdash; and a league-low five interceptions. The Colts' secondary is extremely banged up, though free safety <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012184" title="Antoine Bethea" href="/topic/sports/football/antoine-bethea-PESPT0012184.topic">Antoine Bethea</a> anchors the group. Defensive ends <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008986" title="Dwight Freeney" href="/topic/sports/football/dwight-freeney-PESPT000008986.topic">Dwight Freeney</a> (above) and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009012" title="Robert Mathis" href="/topic/sports/football/robert-mathis-PESPT000009012.topic">Robert Mathis</a> have combined for 11 sacks this season, but they're still viewed as one of the most dangerous pass-rushing tandems in football.<br>
<br>
EDGE: RAVENS
bal-ravens-pass-offense-vs-colts-pass-defense

( Getty photo / November 8, 2009 )

Joe Flacco did exactly what was needed last weekend, and that meant handing the ball off to Rice. The Ravens' much-maligned quarterback doesn't have an interception in back-to-back games for the first time all season, though he's thrown the ball just 46 times during that span. Flacco has completed 55.3 percent of his passes, which is 28th in the NFL, but he has done a good job of getting multiple receivers involved. The Ravens have five players with 28 or more catches, led by Rice's 56, and Anquan Boldin's 50 for a team-leading 779 yards. Rookie Torrey Smith leads the team with five touchdown catches. The Colts have been better against the pass than the run, but they still are allowing 242.9 yards per game through the air, which ranks 22nd in the NFL. They also have only 19 sacks — second fewest in the NFL — and a league-low five interceptions. The Colts' secondary is extremely banged up, though free safety Antoine Bethea anchors the group. Defensive ends Dwight Freeney (above) and Robert Mathis have combined for 11 sacks this season, but they're still viewed as one of the most dangerous pass-rushing tandems in football.

EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun