SPECIAL TEAMS:

While <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> punter <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012657" title="Sam Koch" href="/topic/sports/football/sam-koch-PESPT0012657.topic">Sam Koch</a> has been his reliable self this season, averaging 46.2 yards per punt, kicker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008944" title="Billy Cundiff" href="/topic/sports/football/billy-cundiff-PESPT00008944.topic">Billy Cundiff</a> has had his share of struggles. He missed two field goals last Sunday against Cleveland and he’s now 26-for-34 on the season. He, however, has not missed a field goal in the fourth quarter this season. Cundiff’s counterpart, the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000044" title="Indianapolis Colts" href="/topic/sports/football/indianapolis-colts-ORSPT000044.topic">Colts</a>’ <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT007595" title="Adam Vinatieri" href="/topic/sports/football/adam-vinatieri-PESPT007595.topic">Adam Vinatieri</a> (above), is 14-for-17 this season. The 16-year veteran, who is 11th all-time with an 82.7 career field goal percentage, is 9-for-9 in his career against the Ravens. Colts punter <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012732" title="Pat McAfee" href="/topic/sports/football/pat-mcafee-PESPT0012732.topic">Pat McAfee</a> is sixth in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000000250" title="American Football Conference" href="/topic/sports/football/american-football-conference-ORSPT000000250.topic">AFC</a> with a 47.3 gross average, and he also handles the kickoffs, converting 69 percent of them for touchbacks. That’s the second best touchback percentage in the league. The Colts are last in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="NFL" href="/topic/sports/football/nfl-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a> in kickoff and punt returns, averaging just 17.9 per kickoff return and three yards per punt return. The Ravens average 25.2 and 31 yards respectively. They got their long-awaited big play on special teams against Cleveland when <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013148" title="Lardarius Webb" href="/topic/sports/football/lardarius-webb-PESPT0013148.topic">Lardarius Webb</a> returned a punt 68 yards for a touchdown. The Colts are allowing 34 yards per kickoff return, the worst in the league.<br>
<br>
EDGE: RAVENS
bal-krt-sports-jaguarsct20111208125022

( Sam Riche, MCT / August 20, 2011 )

While Ravens punter Sam Koch has been his reliable self this season, averaging 46.2 yards per punt, kicker Billy Cundiff has had his share of struggles. He missed two field goals last Sunday against Cleveland and he’s now 26-for-34 on the season. He, however, has not missed a field goal in the fourth quarter this season. Cundiff’s counterpart, the Colts’ Adam Vinatieri (above), is 14-for-17 this season. The 16-year veteran, who is 11th all-time with an 82.7 career field goal percentage, is 9-for-9 in his career against the Ravens. Colts punter Pat McAfee is sixth in the AFC with a 47.3 gross average, and he also handles the kickoffs, converting 69 percent of them for touchbacks. That’s the second best touchback percentage in the league. The Colts are last in the NFL in kickoff and punt returns, averaging just 17.9 per kickoff return and three yards per punt return. The Ravens average 25.2 and 31 yards respectively. They got their long-awaited big play on special teams against Cleveland when Lardarius Webb returned a punt 68 yards for a touchdown. The Colts are allowing 34 yards per kickoff return, the worst in the league.

EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery