RAVENS PASS OFFENSE VS. STEELERS PASS DEFENSE

The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000055" title="Pittsburgh Steelers" href="/topic/sports/football/pittsburgh-steelers-ORSPT000055.topic">Steelers</a> have one of the league's top pass defenses, holding opponents to just 171.6 yards through the air. Pittsburgh has yet to allow a team to reach 260 net passing yards in a game. That includes limiting the Patriots to 170 passing yards last week, 180.5 below their season average. With safeties <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012289" title="Ryan Clark" href="/topic/sports/football/ryan-clark-PESPT0012289.topic">Ryan Clark</a> (above left) and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009013" title="Troy Polamalu" href="/topic/sports/football/troy-polamalu-PESPT000009013.topic">Troy Polamalu</a> (above right) and cornerback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013062" title="Ike Taylor" href="/topic/sports/football/ike-taylor-PESPT0013062.topic">Ike Taylor</a>, Pittsburgh has one of the top secondaries in football. However, the defense has forced a league-low three turnovers and is tied for the fewest interceptions (two). They will be without one of their top pass rushers, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013198" title="LaMarr Woodley" href="/topic/sports/football/lamarr-woodley-PESPT0013198.topic">LaMarr Woodley</a>, and fellow linebackers <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000018611" title="James Harrison" href="/topic/sports/football/james-harrison-PESPT0000018611.topic">James Harrison</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT002172" title="James Farrior" href="/topic/sports/james-farrior-PESPT002172.topic">James Farrior</a> are hurting, too. Ravens quarterback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000012410" title="Joe Flacco" href="/topic/sports/football/joe-flacco-PESPT0000012410.topic">Joe Flacco</a> threw for 224 yards and three touchdowns in Week 1. In seven career regular-season games against Pittsburgh, Flacco has thrown nine touchdown passes and four interceptions. Pittsburgh has been hurt by opposing tight ends, and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012888" title="Dennis Pitta" href="/topic/sports/football/dennis-pitta-PESPT0012888.topic">Dennis Pitta</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008947" title="Ed Dickson" href="/topic/sports/football/ed-dickson-PESPT00008947.topic">Ed Dickson</a> combined for seven catches for 104 yards and a touchdown against them in Week 1.<br>
<b>EDGE:</b> STEELERS
bal-krt-sports-fbn-stect20111105152810

( MCT photo / August 20, 2011 )

The Steelers have one of the league's top pass defenses, holding opponents to just 171.6 yards through the air. Pittsburgh has yet to allow a team to reach 260 net passing yards in a game. That includes limiting the Patriots to 170 passing yards last week, 180.5 below their season average. With safeties Ryan Clark (above left) and Troy Polamalu (above right) and cornerback Ike Taylor, Pittsburgh has one of the top secondaries in football. However, the defense has forced a league-low three turnovers and is tied for the fewest interceptions (two). They will be without one of their top pass rushers, LaMarr Woodley, and fellow linebackers James Harrison and James Farrior are hurting, too. Ravens quarterback Joe Flacco threw for 224 yards and three touchdowns in Week 1. In seven career regular-season games against Pittsburgh, Flacco has thrown nine touchdown passes and four interceptions. Pittsburgh has been hurt by opposing tight ends, and Dennis Pitta and Ed Dickson combined for seven catches for 104 yards and a touchdown against them in Week 1.
EDGE: STEELERS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery