COLTS RUN OFFENSE VS RAVENS RUN DEFENSE:

There has been very little drop off with the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a>’ run defense in middle linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008514" title="Ray Lewis" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-lewis-PESPT008514.topic">Ray Lewis</a>’ absence, as they have held the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000037" title="Cincinnati Bengals" href="/topic/sports/football/cincinnati-bengals-ORSPT000037.topic">Cincinnati Bengals</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000057" title="San Francisco 49ers" href="/topic/sports/football/san-francisco-49ers-ORSPT000057.topic">San Francisco 49ers</a> and the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000038" title="Cleveland Browns" href="/topic/sports/football/cleveland-browns-ORSPT000038.topic">Browns</a> to a total of 252 yards over the three games. Linebackers <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012738" title="Jameel McClain" href="/topic/sports/football/jameel-mcclain-PESPT0012738.topic">Jameel McClain</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012395" title="Dannell Ellerbe" href="/topic/sports/football/dannell-ellerbe-PESPT0012395.topic">Dannell Ellerbe</a>, who have stepped up with Lewis on the sidelines, combined for 10 tackles versus Cleveland. Overall, the Ravens have held opponents to 88.8 yards per game on the ground. Only the 49ers have been stingier. They’ve also allowed six rushing touchdowns, tied for the fourth fewest in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="National Football League" href="/topic/sports/football/national-football-league-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>. Indianapolis, meanwhile, is 26th in the NFL in rushing, averaging 99 yards per game. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012222" title="Donald Brown" href="/topic/sports/football/donald-brown-PESPT0012222.topic">Donald Brown</a>, a first-round pick in 2009 who hasn’t lived up to his expectations, is the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000044" title="Indianapolis Colts" href="/topic/sports/football/indianapolis-colts-ORSPT000044.topic">Colts</a>’ starter. He has 397 total rushing yards (4.4 yards per carry) and a career-high four touchdowns. Oft-injured veteran <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012111" title="Joseph Addai" href="/topic/sports/football/joseph-addai-PESPT0012111.topic">Joseph Addai</a> (319 yards rushing, one touchdown &mdash; pictured above) and fumble-prone rookie <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012267" title="Delone Carter" href="/topic/sports/football/delone-carter-PESPT0012267.topic">Delone Carter</a> (347 yards and two touchdowns) should also get some carries. Colts fullback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012712" title="Ryan Mahaffey" href="/topic/sports/football/ryan-mahaffey-PESPT0012712.topic">Ryan Mahaffey</a> was on the Ravens practice squad for much of the season.<br>
<br>
EDGE: RAVENS
bal-afp_getty-13485864920111208124920

( Jim Rogash, Getty Images / December 4, 2011 )

There has been very little drop off with the Ravens’ run defense in middle linebacker Ray Lewis’ absence, as they have held the Cincinnati Bengals, San Francisco 49ers and the Browns to a total of 252 yards over the three games. Linebackers Jameel McClain and Dannell Ellerbe, who have stepped up with Lewis on the sidelines, combined for 10 tackles versus Cleveland. Overall, the Ravens have held opponents to 88.8 yards per game on the ground. Only the 49ers have been stingier. They’ve also allowed six rushing touchdowns, tied for the fourth fewest in the NFL. Indianapolis, meanwhile, is 26th in the NFL in rushing, averaging 99 yards per game. Donald Brown, a first-round pick in 2009 who hasn’t lived up to his expectations, is the Colts’ starter. He has 397 total rushing yards (4.4 yards per carry) and a career-high four touchdowns. Oft-injured veteran Joseph Addai (319 yards rushing, one touchdown — pictured above) and fumble-prone rookie Delone Carter (347 yards and two touchdowns) should also get some carries. Colts fullback Ryan Mahaffey was on the Ravens practice squad for much of the season.

EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery